Shreddin’ the Slopes

We headed out to Idaho to spend Christmas with Nick’s family. This was my first trip there and let me tell you, it was COLD! It was gorgeous though-one of the prettiest places I have ever been. We had a great time getting to hang out with Nick’s parents and all of his brothers and sisters..it was a full house. Since we were around real snow and mountains, we decided to go to Schweitzer, which was only a few miles from Ed and Katie’s house. I have only been skiing once at Ober Gatlinburg, which I realized doesn’t count once I saw the size of the hills at Schweitzer. I wanted to try snowboarding and Nick said I should take a lesson. I didn’t think I would need one, but was very glad that I listened. Otherwise, I would have gone down the hill once, broken multiple bones and never gone again.

Carrie and I took a group lesson together and had Matt as our instructor. Although I’m married, it’s very true about all the cute ski instructors on the ski mountain! 🙂 He showed us all of the basics and then took us on the “bunny” hill. You definitely notice how terrible you are when you see 5 year olds racing past you. We spent a couple hours on the bunny hill with Matt and then tried some stuff on our own. It was great until the sun went down and it was freezing. The best part of the day was when Carrie almost fell off the side of the lift and Matt had to rescue her. Very graceful Care! Snowboarding was fun, but we were all super tired that night. I want to go again, but look forward to the less intimidating hills of Ober! Anthony, next time, don’t be an old man and come with us!

Ready for the X games

Nick’s favorite girls

The lovely Matt..and my hubby in the background. Don’t worry!

Our first married Christmas! Yes, I look like a marshmallow in the Wal-mart ski pants

Matt checking out Carrie’s skills

Isn’t the view beautiful?

Leave Some Freckle Love

