Books, Books, Books


I recently started reading books by Jodi Picoult. If you don’t know who she is, she is the author of My Sister’s Keeper, which was recently made into a movie (which I have not seen). I LOVE her books! Once I read Salem Falls and Vanishing Acts, I was hooked. Lucky for me, there is a used book store close to my office I can visit on my lunch break to score some super cheap books. Her books aren’t the happy “chick lit” stuff like Confessions of a Shopaholic (which I also love). They typically deal with topics like murder, autistic children, prison, etc. Seriously, if you like reading, pick up one of her books. She completely draws you in to the story and you get hooked. And makes me see that I would never survive in prison! Which my husband likes because he gets plenty of time to watch his shows on TV.

I’m about to start Handle With Care. Here’s what it is about:
When Charlotte and Sean O’Keefe’s daughter, Willow, is born with severe osteogenesis imperfecta, they are devastated – she will suffer hundreds of broken bones as she grows, a lifetime of pain. As the family struggles to make ends meet to cover Willow’s medical expenses, Charlotte thinks she has found an answer. If she files a wrongful birth lawsuit against her ob/gyn for not telling her in advance that her child would be born severely disabled, the monetary payouts might ensure a lifetime of care for Willow. But it means that Charlotte has to get up in a court of law and say in public that she would have terminated the pregnancy if she’d known about the disability in advance – words that her husband can’t abide, that Willow will hear, and that Charlotte cannot reconcile. And the ob/gyn she’s suing isn’t just her physician – it’s her best friend.

Not very happy right? Check it out and you will see why the books are so good. Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books

  1. Julia says:

    I enjoyed My Sister's Keeper, but was a little confused with the jumping from character to character. Is this book like that?! If not, I will definitely have to check it out! I am always looking for new books to read!! You also need to check out the Sookie books I was telling you about! You will like them!

  2. Lauren says:

    Well, a lot of her books go from character to character, but not all of them do. I think Nineteen Minutes does, but it's not confusing. I really liked Salem Falls and Vanishing Acts, but VA is told from a different character each chapter. I have several of them if you want to borrow and try them instead of buying!! oohh good idea…I'll try those next and let you know what I think!!!

Leave Some Freckle Love

