10 Things I Can’t Live Without

I saw this list on a few other blogs and I thought, hey, it’s Friday afternoon and I’m not motivated to work at the moment..so here they are!

1. MI FAMILIA (See what a college Spanish minor teaches you?)


The hubby. He keeps me grounded, especially since I have alot of big ideas swirling around in this brain. He made my dream of moving to the city come true by working hard to get a promotion at work. And he makes me laugh. Every. Day. Plus, he’s hot.


I just love my furry little friend! Seriously, I never knew how much you could love a dog until Nick got me Roxie (another reason I love him!) She’s a handful, but always keeps me entertained. And, there’s nothing better than when she snuggles up in my lap and falls asleep.


My family has always been super close, but I think I appreciate them even more since I moved 8 hours away. I miss being able to meet up for dinner or a quick shopping trip after work. We email all day at work (sorry boss) and send pictures back and forth-mostly of Colby right now! I have the best memories with these lovely individuals (the bridge ices before the road being one of my favorites) and I wouldn’t know what to do without them. I still talk to my Mom and Sista 3 or 4 times a day and still call my Dad for advice about big decisions. We are about to 2 new babies to the family and I can’t wait. So. Lucky.

2. SERIOUS SWEET TOOTH


I could seriously eat ice cream every single day if I knew it wouldn’t make me qualify to be a contestant on the Biggest Loser. Bruster’s Double Chocolate Chunk is simply scrumptious. And Nick will randomly surprise me with a carton of it with waffle cones, which is another reason I keep him around!



Chocolate chip cookies always remind me of my Moozie (my sweet Mama) because she used to bake them all the time. Or she just let us eat the raw cookie dough.

3. BREAKIN’ A SWEAT

While my workout attire might not be as stylish as Ms. Fonda, exercise is a huge part of my routine (still working on the healthy eating). There is something that feels so good about pushing your body and working up a sweat. Blame it on the endorphins. I love to take a BodyPump class and challenge my muscles or take out some aggression in BodyCombat. I loved (hated) the 90 days of P90X and have recently discovered a love for running (more on that later).

4. I’VE BEEN EVERYWHERE MAN

Well, not yet, but I want to. I have a serious love for going new places and discovering new cities. There is something so fascinating about experiencing a new city for the first time and understanding how different people are. Participating in a study abroad program in college was one of the best things I have ever done. I loved being in Costa Rica and trying a different language, eating new foods, learning about a different culture. I constantly find myself learning new things in D.C. and I’m so excited to be living here. I want to travel to Spain, Italy, Greece, Russia, New York, California (can’t stop going back), more countries in Central America and the list goes on. I mean, is there really anything better than a day at the beach?

5. JUST HEAR THOSE SLEIGH BELLS RINGING

I seriously die for the holidays. Ask Nick-I made him go through a Christmas display at Macy’s the other day and was giddy from the sound of Christmas music. Although I love the beach and lake during the summer, I love this time of year from Halloween to New Year’s. Decorating for Christmas is one my favorite things to do and I would leave my Christmas tree up all year around if I wouldn’t look like a crazy person. It’s like Buddy the elf say
s, “First we’ll make snow angels for two hours, then we’ll go ice skating, then we’ll eat a whole roll of Tollhouse Cookie-dough as fast as we can, and then we’ll snuggle.” Can’t. Wait.

6. BOOKWORM

Nerd alert-I read. Alot. I’ve always read tons of books since I was younger-you should see the bookshelf at my Mom’s house. I recently got a library card-it’s an expensive habit because I read so fast (Nick laughed at me because I came home with a huge pile of books). I love getting lost in a good book and I’m definitely one of those people who hates when the movie doesn’t do the book justice. Right now I love Stephanie Meyer, Phillippa Gregory, Jane Green, Nicholas Sparks, Sophia Kinsella and the list goes on.

And 7-10 will have to wait because the boss just told me I could go home early. And why would I turn that down? I know you will be eagerly anticipating the rest of the list, but hold your horses! 🙂 Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “10 Things I Can’t Live Without

  1. Kristen says:

    love those books! It seems like we have the same taste in authors. Since graduating I’ve rediscovered my love of books. Cutting for Stone, Little Bee, The Help and Boleyn Inheritance have been my favorite books this year

  2. Lauren @ Life's Better With Freckles says:

    I’m about to read the Help and I LOVE Boleyn Inheritance…have you read other books by Phillippa Gregory? They are all fantastic. Jodi Picoult is also great and I just started reading Kristin Hannah and Barbara Delinsky. Let me know if you have any other good recommendations!

Leave Some Freckle Love

