Work It Out Wednesday

I don’t normally make New Year’s Resolutions, but this year I did write a list of 10 goals I want to accomplish in 2011.  One goal was to run a half marathon, which I’ll do (hopefully) in September.

Another goal was to change up my workouts more often so I’m not constantly doing the same thing. I found this workout at How Sweet It Is.  It’s really hard to make it past the pictures of cupcakes and chocolate, but she has some good workouts on the site.  I tried this workout on Sunday, which was perfect for a day when I wasn’t motivated to think up something on my own or go to a class. I used the gym at our apartment complex instead of going to Gold’s Gym-it’s hard to be motivated to leave and go somewhere when it’s 20 degrees and snow is still everywhere! Come on spring…

Anyway, here’s the workout:  

5 minute warm-up

10 minutes treadmill: 4.0 speed, 8.0 incline (no hands!)
12 lat pulldowns
12 chest presses
12 seated rows
20 pushups

10 minutes elliptical: 12 resistance (this depends on your machine, it should be challenging!)
20 walking lunges
20 stability ball squats (I didn’t have a stability ball)
12 leg extensions (I did 2 sets)
12 deadlifts (I did 2 sets)
 10 minutes bike: level 7 (again, depends on your bike)
20 triceps dips
60 second bicycle crunches
12 biceps curls
60 second plank

5 minute cool down

Instead of the 5 minute cool down, I did:


Front plank hold: 3 sets of 60 seconds
Bicycle crunches: 3 sets of 60 seconds

I never work out abs unless I’m in a class, so I was feeling these sets the next day!


It wasn’t insanely hard, but a good mix of cardio and toning. It did by go really fast since I was constantly jumping on different machines. Let me know if you try it!

Leave Some Freckle Love

