Two Years!

Happy Anniversary to us! Yesterday was our two year anniversary.

 

I started thinking about how this 2nd year of marriage was so different then the first.  Our first year of marriage was full of milestones- we moved in together and got a dog, celebrated our first holiday season as husband and wife, celebrated each month we were married, went to Costa Rica for our anniversary, etc. 

This 2nd year has been very different and full of change.  Nick moved to Maryland in May 2010 (right around our 1st anniversary) and I came up at the end of the month.  I worked at my job until the end of June and the job hunt went into full force.  I was extremely lucky that I got a job a few weeks later and we didn’t have that stress to deal with.  I went to work in DC and learned about the joys of commuting in a big city.  We searched for months for a new church and finally found one in September and we placed our membership in January.  We LOVE this church! We became aunt/uncle to Lily in October and had to learn to deal with being 8 hours away from our family when big things are happening, which has been much harder than we realized.  We’ve also spent the past few months dealing with some health issues I’ve been having and Nick has been my rock.  Even at 27, it’s not easy being away from your family when you are sick and in the hospital and I’m grateful to have him by my side.  We’ve also dealt with the stress of trying to sale a house, finally renting it out and adjusting to a strict budget because everything here is so damn expensive. 

However, even though none of these changes have been easy and being this far away has been very, very hard, I’m so grateful that we have had this experience together.  I think it has made us stronger as a couple and allowed us to see what we want for our future.  When everyone you know is 8 hours away, you learn very quickly to completely depend on one another. We’ve had a lot of quality time together this last year! 🙂  Although we want to eventually move back and be closer to our families, this has been the best thing for us and I wouldn’t trade it for anything (except maybe when we realized the state of Maryland has the 4th highest tax rate in the country. ouch).  It’s also made us both realize that we have to be patient sometimes and let God be in control. 

 

Touring the DC zoo

Christmas in Tennessee
The National Christmas Tree

Riding the metro

And I absolutely love, love, love working in this city.  I still get a little thrill every time I walk by the White House or have a work event at the Capitol.  The energy here is awesome and there are so many fun little neighborhoods to explore.  I’ve learned so much about how our government works and it’s been the best experience.  Although Nick is not a city boy and won’t be sad to see it go, I will be sad to leave DC when it comes time for another move.  Although the cost of cheaper (hopefully) rent will probably help!  

It’s been so fun to explore the city this past year!    

Changing of the Guard

Hello Mr. President!

Robert E. Lee’s house at Arlington

We stopped in Kingston on our drive home from Nashville on Sunday (wedding recap to come!) and Grandmom and Granddad came to see us.  As they were leaving, Granddad made sure to help her up and hold on to her as they walked to the car.  It was such a simple thing, but it was so awesome to see.  After 63 years together, they are still so sweet together and such a wonderful example of marriage.  All I could think was I. Want. That. 

Nick took me to the doctor yesterday and then we celebrated with some Chick-fil-a and frozen yogurt.  Fancy huh?

Chocolate for me, fruit for him

Here’s to 61 more years babe! I love you!!

2 thoughts on “Two Years!

Leave Some Freckle Love

