All About the Dads

Nick is spending the day here: 

Recognize the golf course?  He’s at the Congressional Country Club watching the U.S. Open with Geoff!   Geoff got free tickets, so the boys are off being VIP’s for the day.  Maybe we’ll see them on TV! 

Anyway, Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful Dad’s out there and parents to be! Neither of us are with our Dad’s today, so I thought they needed a little blog love. 🙂

“A man knows when he is growing old because he begins to look like his father.”  Doesn’t this apply perfectly to Nick and Ed?  Happy Father’s Day, Ed! We hope you love the gift Nick sent (which is entirely another story and may or may not be shared on this blog.  My husband keeps things interesting!) 



He’s not my Dad, but My Granddad helped raise me and is such a wonderful example of a Godly, loving man.  

He has a wife, 3 daughters, 5 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren that are femaile.  The man is a saint! I always love hearing his stories about the Navy, how he grew up and when he met Grandmom at the  Five and Dime store.  Thanks for always letting me steal your favorite chair and for making the perfect pancakes every time I ask! I love you! 
  

The first man a little girl falls in love with is her Dad.





Dad and I used to butt heads a lot when I was younger.  I’ve heard from numerous sources it’s because we are just alike. 🙂  As I grew up, our relationship began to change and develop into what it is today.  I’ve looked to my Dad for advice during college and again when I started looking for a job; even now when I accomplish something at work, I still call him to share the news and hear, “I’m proud of you, kiddo.” It’s still kiddo, even though I’m 27 🙂  There were numerous phone calls in college when I was in tears over exams, stressed over money or when my car broke down multiple times, that I called to say, “what should I do?” and never thought first that he wouldn’t be able to provide an answer.  Before the days of GPS, I called multiple times my freshman year when I was lost in Nashville, and he always turned me in the right direction from my simple, “I’m lost, I can see the Batman building and I’m going west.”  When I decided I wanted to play softball, he taught me to always keep my glove on the ground and my eye on the ball, and even though I wasn’t very good at either, he always came to watch me play.  When I got married, he placed my hand in Nick’s and said, “I’m trusting you to take care of her like I always have.”  (which neither of us were expecting and the only time either of us teared up during the ceremony).  I somehow managed to carry on his love of history to the amusement of my husband.  Our relationship hasn’t always been easy at times (remember the math fight, Dad?) but I’m grateful to have a Father that always knew without a doubt that I was going to accomplish my dreams and never let me believe otherwise.  When I told him we were moving to D.C., he said, “You’ve always wanted to do that and I always knew you would.” 

Happy Father’s Day, Dad.  Love, LP














2 thoughts on “All About the Dads

Leave Some Freckle Love

