Easy Peasy Chicken Tacos

I’m always talking about how much I love working in D.C., BUT there are a few things that I hate about this place.  #1 complaint = commuting.  When I first started working right after college, my apartment was about a mile from the office, which kicked major booty.  I could go home and watch an episode of Friends while I ate lunch.  (Hey, I was poor and definitely didn’t have cable).  When the office moved locations, my commute was about 30 minutes to Oak Ridge.  I hated that drive and thought the traffic coming through Solway was the devil.  Until I moved here and experienced the joy of traffic around the beltway.  My commute is about an hour each way now and although I love the ease of taking the metro, I don’t like wasting two hours of my day getting to work.  

Okay, enough of being Debbie Downer.  With our commutes being much longer, we just have to be creative when we cook because by the time we get home, we’re some hungry hippos.  We usually cook on Sunday or plan easy meals that come together quickly.  Enter easy peasy chicken tacos!  This is seriously the easiest recipe I’ve ever made.  You need three things.  Yes, that’s it! 

No, we don’t have a Hello Kitty crock pot, but I’m pretty sure I want one now.  Heather and I loved Hello Kitty back in the day.  

Use at least 16 ounces or more of salsa.  I didn’t realize Nick bought a 3 pound jar and accidently used the entire thing.  I thought it looked like a lot!
Chicken!

Combine the chicken and salsa in the crock pot and let it cook on low.  When we came home, the house smelled AMAZ-ing! The chicken should shred easily with a fork and we used it to make taco salads with tortilla chips, shredded lettuce, cheese, etc.  This was so simple, but so delicioso (a little Spanish minor coming out for you).  

Nick said I shouldn’t show this picture because it looked like vomit.  Next time I’ll take the photo before I mix it all up!

And of course, follow the tacos with a Chocolate Mousse Filled Snicker’s Cupcake!

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Chicken Tacos

  1. Julia says:

    You can also do chicken breasts (if thawed add some water), 2 cans of rotel, and 1 packet of taco seasoning. Let it cook all day and then when you get home use forks to shred. Itll be so tender it will shred really easy. That is Sonia's recipe and its really good and easy!!

Leave Some Freckle Love

