Three More Weeks!

This weekend was my last long training run for the half marathon-whoo hoo! I did 11 miles on Sunday and it was probably the best run I’ve had the whole time, which surprised me since the 6 and 8 mile runs were really hard the first time I did them.  I think it helped that the temperature dropped and I wasn’t about to have a heat stroke.  🙂  The run flew by and I’m hoping I feel that great on September 4-cross your fingers would ya? 

On runs of 10+ miles, I’ve started using GU to make sure I have the energy I need to finish the run.  What the heck is a GU you ask?  Trust me, I had no idea either until I started training and the guy at Potomac River Running recommended that I use them.  It’s basically a performance energy product..like a fancy Gatorade.  🙂  Serious runners would probably hate that description!  I didn’t take enough during one 10 mile run and even though I felt completely fine while running, I crashed hard after, so now I’m a firm believer in the GU power.

You take one 15 minutes before you run and every 45 minutes.  I normally just take one halfway through, but I plan to take all of them during the half marathon.  Just in case! I normally take the GU chomps, which remind me of fruit snacks.

   

I thought I would hate this, but they taste great! I told Nick I might start bringing them to work as snacks. 🙂 It’s kind of weird to chew while you run, but it isn’t bad.  I tried a GU Gel on Sunday’s run and yuck.  The flavor was great, but the texture grossed me out.  It was really thick.

It did the job though and I made the 11 miles!  I have two 4 mile runs this week and 8 miles on Saturday and then 3, 3, and 6 the next week.  Then it’s RACE WEEK! 

I wanted to give my legs a chance to rest, so I did a great upper body workout this morning from Body for Life.  I did this program in college with my Dad and I loved it.  It got me started on eating throughout the day (LOVE!) and I really started to like strength training.  .  You can learn more on their website.  I wanted to do something different to mix it up and I realized I haven’t done any of their workouts in a few years.  I’m definitely going to add these back into my weekly workouts! 

Here’s what they tell you to do on their website:

  • Perform two exercises for each major muscle group of the upper body.
  • Select one exercise and conduct five sets with it, starting with a set of 12 reps, then increasing the weight and doing 10 reps, adding more weight and doing 8 reps, adding more weight for 6 reps. Then reduce the weight and do 12 reps. Immediately perform another set of 12 reps for that muscle group using the second selected exercise.
  • For each muscle group, rest for one minute between the first four sets. Then complete the final two sets with no rest in between, wait two minutes before moving on to your next muscle group, complete this pattern five times for the upper body training experience and four times for the lower body training experience.

Basically, you go up in weight and down in reps and then you finish each muscle group off with a different exercise.  I don’t rest for a full minute in between sets.  I either do a short break or I do lunges, squats, abs, etc. in between.  Here’s what I did this morning (it’s total weight used):

Has anyone else ever done Body for Life?  If not, let me know if you try it!  They have different exercises for each muscle group on their website, so it’s a great resource.

2 thoughts on “Three More Weeks!

  1. Jenn says:

    GO GIRL!! This is amazeballs. That pace is fabulous. If you did that in training, you will kill it the day of the race. Proud of you!

    Gu gels are definitely an acquired taste, but I find that if you chase it with a swig of water, it’s definitely easier (at least for me) to get down when you are dog-ass tired and your adrenaline is sort of barely pumping. 🙂 I can’t do those chews! Josh Wade swears by them though.

    I love the “Roctane” Gu Gels with caffeine! Pineapple is good and Blueberry Pomegranate is tasty, too. Go get ’em. Will be sending out the good vibes in a few weeks!

    XOXO,
    Jenn

  2. Lauren @ Life's Better With Freckles says:

    I’m praying that I will feel like that on race day. The only thing that scares me is I run better later in the day than first thing in the morning. But hopefully all the adrenaline will kick in. 🙂

    I thought people were nuts at first with all of the Gu talk, but they are my saving grace. I’ll have to try those you mentioned. I’m bringing some with me for the race, but any other advice you have for my first half will be much appreciated. I mean, I’ve asked you about everything else along the way!! You’ve been my go-to trainer. 🙂

    Pomegranate is my fave lately….try the Chobani Pomegranate Greek Yogurt. YUM!

Leave Some Freckle Love

