Make These Enchiladas Immediately

Well, I’m happy to report that Nick and I survived Hurricane/Tropical Storm Irene.  Seriously, I’ve never been in a hurricane or an earthquake and now I experience both in the same week?!  I feel like we moved to California instead of DC!  I only learned what to do in a tornado when I was growing up in Tennessee, but now I feel fully prepared for all kinds of natural disasters. 🙂  We were lucky and didn’t lose power.  I know a lot of people around us lost it.  My cousin Brandi lives in Virginia and they still don’t have it. 

I do have a little bone to pick with Irene because we were supposed to go to Baltimore on Saturday to see Cirque de Soleil.  I’ve been dying to see a show and have been so excited about this for months.  1st Mariner Arena didn’t cancel the show and they wouldn’t refund tickets either.  Um, seriously?  Weren’t they aware that a hurricane was coming and Baltimore is on the water?  We actually did attempt to go because it was only raining lightly and the storm wasn’t supposed to hit until the middle of the night.  When we were close to Baltimore, the rain and wind really picked up and the news said the storm was going to hit earlier than expected, so we turned around.  Just in case!  We didn’t want to get stranded and leave poor Roxie at home alone.  I’m sure they won’t refund our money, but I’m still going to call this morning and try.  Wish me luck. 🙂

Instead of watching people flip around and do crazy tricks, we spent the night watching movies and lots of Weather Channel.

I got excited because he talked about Rockville (where we live) on the news! oh wait, that meant the storm was coming toward us….     

Nick and I were laughing all day at the poor reporters that had to stand on a beach in a hurricane.  Seriously, how do they decide who gets that job?  After I took Roxie out, I sent a text to my family to give them an update on the weather in our area:

CNN, if you are reading, I am available to cover the next hurricane. 

Roxie was not a fan of going outside in hurricane winds and rain.  I took her outside once and she turned around immediately when she saw the weather and ran back up the stairs.  What a princess. 

The grocery stores were crazy around here all week.  However, I wanted to ask people why are you buying gallons of milk, ice cream and lunch meat when you are expecting the power to go out?  Geniuses I tell ya. 

Since we were lucky and didn’t lose power, we made some of the Pioneer Woman enchiladas for dinner last night.  Nick surprised me with her cookbook recently and I love it.  I can’t wait to see her new cooking show on the Food Network!  Her recipes use normal ingredients and she provides step by step instrutions with photos.  Win!  I’ve already made these enchiladas once before and we love them.  Nick is definitely a “meat man” and they are 100% husband approved. 🙂

Pioneer Woman Enchiladas:

Ingredients
FOR THE SAUCE:
■1 Tablespoon Canola Oil
■1 Tablespoon All-purpose Flour
■1 can (28 Ounce) Enchilada Or Red Sauce
■2 cups Chicken Broth
■1/2 teaspoon Salt
■1/2 teaspoon Ground Black Pepper
■2 Tablespoons Chopped Cilantro

FOR THE MEAT:
■1-1/2 pound Ground Beef
■1 whole Medium Onion, Finely Diced
■2 cans (4 Ounce) Diced Green Chilies
■1/2 teaspoon Salt

■FOR THE TORTILLAS:
■10 whole (to 14) Corn Tortillas
■1/2 cup Canola Oil

■TO ASSEMBLE:
■3 cups Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese
■1/2 cup Chopped Black Olives
■1 cup Chopped Green Onions
■1/2 cup Chopped Cilantro

Preparation Instructions
Step #1 – The Sauce
In a large saucepan over medium heat, add oil and flour and whisk together to make a paste, cooking for one minute. Pour in the red sauce, chicken broth, cilantro, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 30-45 minutes.  (I just simmered it for as long as it took the meat to brown).

Step #2 – The Meat
Brown the meat with onions in a skillet. Drain off fat. Stir in 2 cans diced green chilies and seasoned salt. Set aside.

Step #3 – Tortillas
Heat canola oil in a small skillet over medium heat. One by one, using tongs, fry tortillas in oil until soft, not crisp – about 30 seconds per side. Remove to a paper—towel lined plate. Repeat until all tortillas have been fried.  (I skipped the frying step and just dipped the tortillas in the sauce and then filled them with meat). 

Step #4 – Assembly
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour ½ cup red sauce in bottom of baking pan. Spread to even out. Dip each tortilla into red sauce, then remove to work surface. Spoon meat, a little grated cheese, a little black olives (left these out), and green onions in the center of tortilla. Roll up and place, seam down, in baking pan. Repeat until pan is filled. Pour extra red sauce over enchiladas. Top with remaining cheddar cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes or until bubbly. Sprinkle cilantro over enchiladas before serving.

You won’t be disappointed with this recipe!  Sorry there isn’t a photo..we dug in right away and couldn’t be stopped to take one. 🙂 

Happy Monday!  My mama will be heading to DC on Thursday and I can’t freakin’ wait.  I’m off to see how things look in Virginia Beach since I’m supposed to be running a little race there this weekend………

 

3 thoughts on “Make These Enchiladas Immediately

  1. Holly says:

    Ugh, that totally sucks about Cirque de Solei! Boo! I hope they refunded your money..or something.
    Those reporters always crack me up- they even had one guy here in Florida get SOAKED when he was standing on the shore- he didn’t realize this huge wave came up & nearly knocked him down. Lucky for him he was just really wet- it went up past his stomach!
    So glad you guys made it through the storm ok!

  2. Jenn says:

    OMG, I made a variation of these last night. Pretty much everything but the way she did her sauce. I just used a can of enchilada sauce, plopped in a healthy spoonful of sour cream and whisked that together. They were DELISH. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I wonder if 9:54 a.m. is too soon to go eat my leftovers…

Leave Some Freckle Love

