I Love New York

Ah, New York was as amazing as I thought it would be.  We went up last Saturday and spent the day playing tourists, complete with matching fanny packs. 

Kidding. 

We met my friends Katelyn and Martha for brunch at Eatery.  I met Katelyn on a study abroad program in college.  Martha was an intern at the PR firm I worked at in Tennessee.  Now Martha and Katelyn work together in New York City.  Small world, right?

Eatery was fantastic.  I had Stuffed French Toast with Chocolate-Banana Cream Cheese Filling, Vermont Maple Syrup and Vanilla Ice Cream.  Ice cream on my meal?  Yes, please.  Sorry, I was too busy stuffing my face to take a picture.

We headed to Times Square after brunch and wow, people overload.  After being in New York, I no longer feel like DC is big.  It’s a totally different scale.

Katelyn was our personal tour guide, so I didn’t have to pull out my life-size map to navigate us around the city.  I have a terrible sense of direction, so I probably would have had to pull a Joey and “go in my map.”  FRIENDS reference=SCORE!

We went to Rockefeller Plaza where they are putting up the Christmas tree.  Doesn’t the plaza and ice skating rink always look so big on TV?  Truth = it’s tiny!  Those tricky camera men must use a wide-angle or something. 

 My cousin Darren loved legos as a kid (and I think he still does), so we had to stop for a quick photo opp.

We headed down 5th Avenue where I quickly decided that if I lived in New York, I would only be able to afford H&M and Forever 21. 

Maybe I should have added this to my Christmas list?

 Central Park was so pretty!  Kayla asked if I ran through the park like Phoebe and I’m so disappointed that I didn’t. 

After leaving Central Park, I tried to convince them we should head to Spanish Harlem, but we headed to the Meat Packing District instead and tried out a German beer garden.

The NYC Subway is a little old and dinghy, to be nice.  We didn’t see any rats though.

K, I did forget to run like Pheobe, but I thought of one of our all-time favorite scenes when I saw all of the fire escapes.  “Gee, Ross, how much do you weigh?”  “I prefer not to answer that right now, I’m still carrying a little holiday weight!”

A trip to NYC + a blog post with THREE Friends references = AWESOME!!

5 thoughts on “I Love New York

  1. Kayla says:

    I so wish you would’ve “stepped” into the map, at least for a picture! =) Everything in life can be related to a FRIENDS quote, that’s why that show is the best show EVER.

  2. Pingback: Best of 2011 «
  3. Pingback: 28 for 28 |

Leave Some Freckle Love

