A Little Piece of Paradise

After several days at the beach and a day at a fancy resort, we ended our Costa Rican vacation at the Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort.  Tabacon is a five-star luxury resort and the place definitely lives up to the hype.  If you need a honeymoon destination, put this on your list.  The hotel has a direct view of Arenal Volcano and has natural hot springs that flow directly from the volcano.  Cool, right?  It doesn’t offer the “local” feel that we had at the beginning of the trip at the beach (much more touristy), but it’s still a must see. 

I definitely didn’t capture the beauty of the hot springs in my photos, but if I could pick two words to describe them, I would say lash + paradise.

Driving to the resort from the beach was an experience in itself.  Costa Rica, you could use a little updating with your maps and road signs. 🙂

The volcano as we were driving to the resort. 

When I was in college, I spent a month in Costa Rica for a study abroad program and we spent time in the same area.  I couldn’t resist snapping a quick photo before we left for the airport.  Oh, to be a college student again.  That trip was one of the BEST parts of college. 

At the base of the volcano is a little town called La Fortuna.  We had breakfast there on our way in and out and stocked up at a panaderia (bakery).  I’m sure we looked like fat Americans with all of the pastries/bread we bought, but oh my word, that stuff is divine.  And so cheap! 

After all of the calories we consumed, we went on a hike to La Fortuna waterfall

 

Summer and I were both ADPi’s in college, so we couldn’t resist breaking out the diamonds.  Hopefully we appear in the Adelphean soon. 🙂

And, to cap off our vacation, how often do you see this driving down the road in America?  Well, maybe occasionally in Tennessee, but not in DC!

I. Love. Costa. Rica.

5 thoughts on “A Little Piece of Paradise

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh Lauren, Kent and I LOVED visiting Tabacon Resort and La Fortuna, including hiking down to that beautiful waterfall. Tabacon was purely amazing, even watching the lava flow at night was surreal. Even though it felt out of the cultural norm for Costa Rica, I have to say didn’t mind the couples massage in the rainforest 🙂 Thanks for sharing pics and reminders of good memories there, but how did we miss the bread in La Fortuna!

  2. Life's Better With Freckles says:

    Jenn, I didn’t realize that’s where you guys went on your honeymoon! Isn’t it amazing?? A couples massage there sounds to die for! Watching the lava flow is one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen!

    Sorry girls, I’m a bad blogger….I have no idea what kind of flower it is! I’m more like “oh that’s pretty, I need a picture!” I’ll ask my nerdy husband..he probably looked it up. 🙂

    Kelsey, all of the food was incredible. We ate at at the resort once and we all loved it. We went to local restaurants for the rest of the week and never had a bad meal. Everything is so fresh, the seafood is great and the fruit is unreal. I could recommend a million places to eat if you plan a trip!

Leave Some Freckle Love

