Work It Out Wednesday-Hurts To Walk The Next Day

I haven’t done a Work It Out Wednesday post since the original post lastFebruary.  Wow, I never claim to be timely, but that’s a bit ridiculous!  But I found an amazing leg workout recently from Holly that I just had to share, so Work It Out Wednesday returns!  We’ll see if any more workout posts appear before February 2013.

This leg workout is legit-my legs were shaking when I walked down the stairs to leave the gym.  It also hurt to walk for the next two days, so be warned!  I’ve done this workout a couple of times already and my legs always feel the burn.

Hurts To Walk Leg Workout
*I changed a couple of things, but the gist of the workout is adapted from Holly

5 minute warm up – 5 minutes of running on the treadmill

5 sets of Barbell Sumo Squats

15 reps
10 reps
6 reps
8 reps
10 reps

Barbell Stiff-leg Deadlift-4 sets of 10 reps
I added oblique crunches in between sets

Alternating Set- 3 sets:
1. Lean Lunges with 10lb. Dumbbell each hand- 12 reps each leg
2. Back extension on Roman chair- holding 10lb. weight- 12 reps

Alternating Set- 3 sets:
1. Walking Lunges with Kick back- 10lb. Dumbbells each hand- 10 reps each leg
2. Hamstring Curl on machine- 12 reps

Alternating Set- 3 sets:
1. Leg Extension Machine- 12 reps (I did leg press because I like that machine better)
2. Calf Raise Machine- 12 reps (I changed this out for split squats on a bench.  I’m lazy and never work my calves!)

Alternating Set- 3 sets:
1. Side lying Leg Raise with 10lb. weight on inner thigh- 12 reps, each leg (I did step ups)
2. Crunches holding 25lb. weight- 15 reps

Let me know if you try this!

And now let’s catch up on the photo challenge. 

Nick was out-of-town all last week, so I was so happy when it was time (Day 17) for my husband to be back home!  We had a little date night at Seasons 52, a new restaurant in Bethesda. I’ve read about this restaurant on a few other blogs and it didn’t disappoint!   We were both big fans.  All of the menu items are under 475 calories and their menu varies by season. 

Day 18-Drink

I was on the Hill recently, so I couldn’t resist picking up a milkshake from Good Stuff Eatery.  It didn’t matter that it was 35 degrees outside or that they are full of millions of hip hugging calories.  They make life a little better.  (Seriously, ice cream does that). 

Day 19-Something I hate to do

Spend time at Verizon

Day 20-Handwriting

Day 21-Fave Photo of you

Obviously I don’t look glamorous in this photo (more like a hot, sweaty mess), but I love it because it’s right after I finished my first half marathon!

2 thoughts on “Work It Out Wednesday-Hurts To Walk The Next Day

Leave Some Freckle Love

