600 Miles

So, when January hit and everyone was busy making New Year’s Resolutions and taking up valuable space in the gym (ggrrr), I didn’t really join in and throw out a list of resultions for the year.  A few weeks ago, something hit me and I knew what I wanted to focus on this year (are you starting to believe me that I’m always late for things???).  And it wasn’t so much a resolution, but a fitness goal I set for myself this year. 

By the end of 2012, I want to have run 600 miles.  

I’ve been running for about a year now (had to take some time off when I had mono last year) and have fallen completely in love after my first 10k and half marathon.  I tend to cut wwwaaayyy back on running after I finish a race, so I’m hoping this will be a new goal to keep me consistent and motivated. 

I’ve picked my running back up over the past few weeks and I’m running the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run on April 1.  You have to enter a lottery and win a registration slot because it’s such a popular race, so I was thrilled when this little email popped up in my inbox.  I haven’t been training really, but I’m going to increase my runs this month and hopefully be good to go on April 1!  

I’m hoping to do another half marathon this spring and another one in the fall, although I almost had heat stroke when I trained last summer! I’m eyeing the Marine Corps Half Marathon in May, but I haven’t signed up yet.  The monster hills that make up the end of the course have me a little nervous. 🙂  Hopefully mono stays away this year, the knee stays nice and strong and I’ll have clocked in 600 miles by December 31, 2012. 

via

Here’s to 600 miles! 

And of course, the main reason I run:

via

3 thoughts on “600 Miles

  1. Pingback: 28 for 28 |
  2. Pingback: Top 4 for 2014 |

Leave Some Freckle Love

