Weekend Trip to the Tennessee Mountains

Nick and I spent the weekend in Tennessee.  I had a cheerleading competition and he tagged along so he could go to his god-daughter’s birthday party.

I swear, I feel rejuvenated after spending the weekend in Tennessee and seeing my sweet Mama and some of my friends.  And of course, meeting baby Asher for the first time did not disappoint!  I know I’m biased because it’s my best friend’s baby, but you can’t deny that this little guy is gorgeous.  Asher was a little unhappy after all the traveling, but I did manage to sneak in a few kisses.

Mom and I did a little damage at the outlet mall.  Nick is very patient with me on most of my girly activities, but shopping is not his strong point.  So a few hours of uninterrupted shopping time was in order.  Fact:  my Mom has always been a shopping queen, but I HATED it as a kid and refused to go.  Unfortunately for my bank account, this has clearly changed.

I ran 7 miles on Saturday morning before I had to be at the competition.  Oh. My. Word.  Running in the mountains is a wwwweeeee bit more difficult than running on the flat trails of Maryland.  My lungs were screaming at me on a few hills.  And speaking of running/working out, one of the things I have noticed on our last few trips home is how unhealthy people are in Tennessee.  DC is one of the fittest cities in the country, so I’ve grown accustomed to seeing people constantly biking, running and walking everywhere.  That is not the case in Tennessee-more like people walking around with big bottles of coke and fried treats.  Although that didn’t stop me from indulging in some fudge at the Candy Kitchen!

We had such a great trip!  I did miss my little Yorkie though and was happy to see her sweet face when we got home.

And, it’s beautiful today in DC-so, so happy that spring has arrived in the District!  I get grumpy in cold weather, so my fingers are crossed that winter is gone for good!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Trip to the Tennessee Mountains

  1. kayla says:

    Asher loved loved loved meeting you. He is made at me for waking him up and putting him in a bad mood.. We promise he will be well rested when he sees you again and will love all over you.. I.miss.you.

Leave Some Freckle Love

