Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

I kicked off the month of April (my birthday month!) by running the Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Miler.  I’m so glad that I got an entry for this race during the lottery because it is by far the best course I’ve ever done.  Now, I’ve only done a handful of races at this point, but that’s neither here nor there.

The course was completely flat (love) and at one point I was running on a bridge crossing the Potomac River with the Jefferson Memorial on my right and the Washington Monument on my left.  Fantastic.  The Cherry Blossoms bloomed early this year because of the warm weather, so there were only a handful left in full bloom, but the DC scenery made up for it.

I went to the Expo on Friday afternoon at the National Building Museum and I got Nick this little gem of a t-shirt.

We are such mature adults. 🙂

The course was super crowded when my wave took off-at one point, I was jogging in place, so I thought it was going to be a long 10 miles.  But everyone quickly thinned out and although I was always running in a huge pack, I had room to maneuver.  The elite runners finished 2 miles in 8:47.  Um, that’s my 1 mile pace! Unreal.

I was actually having a fast day and was a little shocked when my average pace was around 8:11.  Running with 15,000 people is so much easier!  I hit 7 miles in just under an hour and was thrilled.  THEN, I realized my Garmin was off and I actually had 4 miles to go instead of 3.  I got a little mental at that point, not to mention the 2 Krispy Kreme donuts and cookie I had the day before weren’t helping matters any.  According to my Garmin, I ran 10 miles in 1:24:45, but I still had a little over a mile to go on the course.  Has anyone else ever had this happen?  I’m wondering if I ran on the outside of the course the entire time and the mileage added up, but it still seems too far over.  I recently put a new battery in the Garmin, so maybe it needs to be recalibrated.  Lame.  The official results came in at 1:37:12.

The day started out gray and a little chilly, but it ended up being a perfect spring day.  Spring is my favorite time of year in DC and makes the insane cost of living here not seem so bad (my opinion totally changes when winter hits).

Pretty soon you will be able to stay at the Old Post Office once Donald Trump converts in into a hotel.

And, speaking of my birthday month, I only have 22 more days as a 27-year-old.  3o is almost here creeping up on me!!

One thought on “Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

Leave Some Freckle Love

