30 Things Every Woman Should Have And Should Know

I came across this article yesterday about 30Things Every Woman Should Have And Should Know by the time she turns 30.  And since I just turned 28, I was interested to see what made the cut-and see what I need to add to my 30 by 30 list.

Here’s the list: 

By 30, you should have …

1. One old boyfriend you can imagine going back to and one who reminds you of how far you’ve come.

2. A decent piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in your family.  I felt like such a grown-up the first time Nick and I bought new living room furniture because everything in my old apartment was previously owned-and also like, WOW, this stuff is pricey!

3. Something perfect to wear if the employer or man of your dreams wants to see you in an hour.

4. A purse, a suitcase, and an umbrella you’re not ashamed to be seen carrying.  Thank goodness I bought that $23 umbrella the other day!

5. A youth you’re content to move beyond.

6. A past juicy enough that you’re looking forward to retelling it in your old age.  Ah, college.  How I enjoyed those years. 🙂  Kayla, what until I tell Asher about hanging upside down from a boat. 🙂

7. The realization that you are actually going to have an old age — and some money set aside to help fund it.  My Dad helped me put together an excel document with a budget when I got my first real job-I didn’t always stick to it, but I did know when I was spending too much money.

8. An email address, a voice mailbox, and a bank account — all of which nobody has access to but you.  Well, Nick and I are co-owners of our bank account, but hey, fine by me-he makes more money than I do!  (Although I plan to catch up in the near future and hopefully slide right on by him-a plan which he fully supports)

9. A résumé that is not even the slightest bit padded.

10. One friend who always makes you laugh and one who lets you cry.

11. A set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill, and a black lace bra.  When I moved to college, my Granddaddy sent me with a box full of tools.  He probably wouldn’t have approved of the black lace bra though.   

12. Something ridiculously expensive that you bought for yourself, just because you deserve it.  Maybe this is a perfect excuse for some Louboutins to have a home in my closet? 

13. The belief that you deserve it.

14. A skin-care regimen, an exercise routine, and a plan for dealing with those few other facets of life that don’t get better after 30.  I just started using night cream, a fact that Nick thinks is hilarious.  Hey, I don’t want old wrinkled skin by 30!

15. A solid start on a satisfying career, a satisfying relationship, and all those other facets of life that do get better.

By 30, you should know …

1. How to fall in love without losing yourself.

2. How you feel about having kids.  The thought doesn’t make me break out in hives like it used to, but I’m not quite ready to give up my lazy Saturday mornings or spur or the moment trips just yet.

3. How to quit a job, break up with a man, and confront a friend without ruining the friendship.  I was terrified the first time I had to tell my boss I was leaving my job.  As in, literally sweating under my pencil skirt and tank.  It couldn’t have gone better.  Major sigh of relief-but I’m sure I’ll still have some nerves on the next round too.

4. When to try harder and when to walk away.

5. How to kiss in a way that communicates perfectly what you would and wouldn’t like to happen next.

6. The names of the secretary of state (Hillary Clinton), your great-grandmothers (I have them written down), and the best tailor in town (Does my Aunt Della count?).

7. How to live alone, even if you don’t like to.  I lived alone for the first time right after college-and I had to leave the TV on every night to go to sleep.  Which, to tell the truth, I still do if Nick’s out of town.  And sleep with a baseball bat close by.

8. Where to go — be it your best friend’s kitchen table or a yoga mat — when your soul needs soothing.

9. That you can’t change the length of your legs, the width of your hips, or the nature of your parents.

10. That your childhood may not have been perfect, but it’s over.

11. What you would and wouldn’t do for money or love.

12. That nobody gets away with smoking, drinking, doing drugs, or not flossing for very long.

13. Who you can trust, who you can’t, and why you shouldn’t take it personally.

14. Not to apologize for something that isn’t your fault.

15. Why they say life begins at 30

One thought on “30 Things Every Woman Should Have And Should Know

Leave Some Freckle Love

