Get Those Omega 3’s

Well, hello there!  It’s been a while, am I right?  I took an unintentional hiatus and have lots to catch up on!  I had a conference during my last week of work and then we headed straight to Tennessee for Memorial Weekend.  I spent the rest of the week at home, got back to DC this past weekend and started my new job on Monday. 

Needless to say, we have been going non-stop for the past two weeks and I haven’t had a second to sit down and even open my computer.  And our camera decided to go into hiding-I’m hoping it’s buried under my multiple piles of clothes, shoes and suitcases and didn’t get left at the NASCAR race on Sunday.  Oh, yes, Nick and I had the full NASCAR experience this weekend and that included my husband sporting a cutoff t-shirt and NASCAR apparel to “fit in.” 

Stay tuned for lots and lots of photos coming up as soon as I dig out my camera.  Until then, here’s a perfect summer recipe for the weekend!  This one from Annie’s Eats is a winner….easy, fast and delicious!

Image

Salmon Burgers with Cilantro Mayo
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
½ cup red bell pepper, diced
6 tbsp. panko bread crumbs
1 clove garlic, finely minced
1 lb. salmon fillets, skinned, boned and finely chopped
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
1½ tsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
¼ tsp. salt
1-2 tbsp. vegetable or canola oil

For the cilantro mayo:
1 clove garlic, chopped
½ cup mayo
½ cup cilantro
Dash of cayenne pepper
Squeeze of lemon juice

For serving:
Burger buns
Green lettuce
Sliced red onion
Sliced tomatoes

Directions:
In a medium mixing bowl, combine the diced bell pepper, panko, garlic and salmon.  In a small bowl combine the egg white, soy sauce, lemon juice and salt.  Add the liquid mixture to the bowl with the salmon and toss gently until well incorporated.  Form the mixture into four equal patties.

To make the cilantro mayo, combine all the ingredients in the bowl of a food processor.  Process until well combined and smooth.

Lightly coat a grill pan or skillet with 1 tablespoon of the oil.  Heat over medium-high heat until hot.  Cook the patties about 5 minutes per side, until cooked through.

Place the burgers on the buns, spreading one side of the bun with the cilantro mayo.  Top as desired with lettuce, onion and tomato.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Get Those Omega 3’s

  1. Jenn says:

    Whoa. I made these last night and I.am.in.love. They were like something you’d order at the Back Porch or something in Destin! They got so crispy on the outside but juicy on the inside — oh I’m in love. I also added in about a tsp or so of Italian seasoning and used a green bell pepper instead of red. And I had to add a bit more panko because they seemed to need more “stick.” But wow, they were fab! Thanks for passing it along. 🙂

    • Life's Better With Freckles says:

      Weren’t they ssssoooo good? I was shocked at how well they turned out, especially since they were so easy. I did add more crumbs too because they feel apart without it. I’ll have to try the grill like you did-we did a cast iron skillet with ours. That cilantro mayo is to die for. If you think of other recipes that would work with that, let me know!

  2. Pingback: Salmon Burgers |

Leave Some Freckle Love

