Horses and Hats

A few weeks ago, Nick and I went to the Preakness. It’s in Baltimore, so we thought it would a fun day to celebrate our anniversary.  I rode horses when I was younger and actually wanted to be a jockey for a short amount of time-until I realized I was slightly over the height limit.  So now I just settle for an excuse to watch pretty horses and wear a fun hat!    

Image

We have both been to Churchill Downs before and since the Preakness is part of the Triple Crown, we were expecting Pimlico (the racetrack) to be as nice as its friend in Kentucky.

We were very, very wrong.  Pimlico doesn’t compare to Churchill Downs at all.  Actually, it’s kind of a dump.  And the crowd was an interesting mix-half of the people were decked out while the other half looked like they were headed to a NASCAR race.  Call me a southern snob, but I’ll take seersucker and fancy hats any day.  I had to explain to Nick what seersucker was…..I guess they didn’t have that when he was a kid in Idaho!  Bless his heart. 

 trying the Black Eyed Susan, the official Preakness drink

 

Nick wanted to bet on the long shots instead of the obvious picks.  Here’s how we picked:  the pink horse for me and the other horses that had our college colors.  (University of Idaho for him and MTSU for me)

Our color picking strategy was not successful. 

Do you want to see I’ll Have Another win again or are you hoping for an upset?  My fingers are crossed for a Triple Crown winner tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Horses and Hats

Leave Some Freckle Love

