Take Steps

I don’t think I’ve ever talked about this on my blog, but I have Crohn’s Disease.  If you don’t know anything about it, check out this article about Mike McCready from Pearl Jam who talks about his struggle with Crohn’s.  

It’s not exactly the most glamorous topic of conversation and I used to only tell my really close friends and family.  I guess I have gotten to be a little less self-conscious as I’ve gotten older because I’m much more open when it comes to talking about it now (obviously if I’m throwing it out here on the internet).  And recently I’ve wanted to help raise money for research and bring more awareness to the topic-blame it on the past two years I’ve spent doing work on Capitol Hill I guess!

This past Saturday, Nick, my friend Emily and I did the Take Steps Walk with the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).  Take Steps is a CCFA fundraising event that helps raise money for research and patients programs and the walks are held all over the country. 

The walk started on the grounds of the Washington Monument and it was a gorgeous day in DC.  One of those days that makes the cost of living here seem totally worth it!  (winter is a totally different story)

The walk was a few miles and a lot of the team names were really funny-No Guts = Sucks was one of my favorite ones.  I didn’t really know what to expect, but I’m definitely making a fun shirt next year!  Nick thinks we should put “Walk for the Runs” on our shirts.  Clearly we aren’t afraid of a good poop joke.


The only bad thing about the walk was the shirt-those are the Florida Gator colors!! But they were also my high school colors so we’ll use that angle instead! Go Kingston Yellow Jackets.  And yes, we were the orange and blue Yellow Jackets.  That makes sense, right?

Just a little photo opp on the toilet. 

Thanks SO MUCH to all of my friends and family that donated!! I’ve always had the best support when I’ve been sick, especially from Nick and my Mom who spent tons of time dragging me to different doctors until they figured out what was wrong with me.  I was diagnosed in middle school and I’ve been pretty lucky so far as long as I stay on my medicine and really watch my diet-which sucks because we all know how much I LOVE ice cream and chocolate.  I had a lot of trouble with it last year when I was training for my half-marathon and spent a few days in the hospital on my 27th birthday.  But overall, I’m really, really lucky compared to what some people go through. 

I’m thinking about running a half-marathon with Team Challenge that raises money for CCFA.  It’s a BIG fundraising commitment-over $2,000 I think, but I’m hoping to do it this year or next.

Do you know anyone that has Crohn’s?

3 thoughts on “Take Steps

  1. Chrissi says:

    thanks for sharing your struggle….sorry to hear you have crohns, but i do admire your smile and positive attitude, as i am sure it can’t be an easy battle. cute pic on the bowl, btw 😉 XO

Leave Some Freckle Love

