Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue

The 4th of July is one of my favorite holidays!  It’s probably because I have such good memories of spending every fourth in the pool, grilling burgers, making homemade ice cream and going to my grandparents to watch the fireworks at the end of the night. 

Our house has a little patriotic flair right now in anticipation of tomorrow’s festivities: 

I couldn’t find something for our front door that I liked, so I decided to try to make my own version.  I bought the wreath for $4.99 at Michael’s and scored the ribbon on sale, so the entire project cost less than $20.  Plus, I can take the ribbon off and use it for other holidays!

The chalkboard was a picture frame (also on clearance) and I spray painted the glass with chalkboard paint.  It’s handy to have best friends that teach school and have lots of crafty ideas..thanks Kayla!  Apparently Nick thought just writing “God Bless America” was boring because when I passed by the chalkboard a few hours later, I noticed some new art added to it!

And since Independence Day is all about the good ol’ US of A, here are some of my favorite things about our country.

Country Music

Songs about everything from crazy girlfriends, love, heartbreak, beer and cowboys, it’s like the musical background of growing up in the south!  Okay, maybe I didn’t actually run around with any real-life cowboys, but they sing about rednecks too and we have plenty of those in Tennessee! And P.S., if you think you don’t like country music, watch Carrie Underwood sing How Great Thou Art

via

via

via

Football-Okay, I guess baseball is officially America’s favorite pastime, but college football season is my favorite time of year. 

Please excuse how overly excited I look to have my picture taken with Jason Whitten!

Washington, DC-Aside from all of the awesome food that’s here, I geek out at all the history that surrounds the city.  You have to love America when you are walking in the halls of the US Capitol or pass the White House.  (Many people would argue that fact considering how many protests take place on a daily basis, but that’s neither here nor there).

Our Military-I have so, so much respect for the men and women who wear our uniform!  I helped with PR for a veteran’s memorial in Tennessee and will never forget the memorial dedication and watching the WWII and Vietnam vets while God Bless America was played. 

New York City-I’ve been obsessed with this city for as long as I can remember and it did not disappoint when I finally got to visit last year.  I love every single thing about it.  I’m also fairly certain that my husband would divorce me if I ever made him move there.

Charleston, South Carolina-This city just oozes southern charm and I’m in love with it.  Nick would happily live here. 🙂

Small Town USA-As much as I love the “big city”, I love small towns even more-the pace, everyone’s friendly, family is more important than work and Friday night football games are a town event.  I think it’s the best way to grow up!

Go USA!  What better time to get excited about all things red, white and blue than the upcoming Olympics?  I will be glued to my TV from the opening ceremonies to the closing and Nick will make fun of me when I get a wee bit emotional when the athletes win a gold medal.

Happy 4th, y’all!

Leave Some Freckle Love

