The Olympics Make Me Tired and Teary

The Olympics have made me realize that I’m far away from the college days of staying up late and still being ready to go the next day.  I’ve been unable to tear myself away from the TV all week and staying up until midnight caught up with me last night because I fell asleep in the floor when I got home from work!  Clearly I’m closer to 30 than 21!!

But how much butt is Team USA kicking in London?!  I love the Olympics and can’t help tearing up every time an athlete wins and they show a shot of their family crying in the stands.  I don’t even know these people so I can’t imagine what the parents feel like watching!

I’m sure this list will grow since there is another week of competition, but here are some of my favorite Olympic moments so far.

Gymnastics is my favorite event and the Fab Five have been on fire!

I’m sure everyone has seen this video of Aly Raisman’s parents, but Nick and I were cracking up when they showed this shot of them in the stands.   

Aly Raisman crying before she even finished her last tumbling pass during the team finals because she knew they had won gold!

Gabby Douglas wins the gold medal in the All Around!

Can we talk about the Russian gymnasts for a minute? They keep showing their coach talk about how training them is a challenge and judging by all the tears we’ve seen, they have clearly earned their diva reputations.

Swimming has been fun to watch.  How cool is it that Missy Franklin doesn’t take sponsorship money so she can swim for her high school team?

Michael Phelps winning his 20th gold medal.

And, he doesn’t come across as the most sincere guy (have you read his comments about relationships?), but those baby blues don’t look so bad in the water.  However, wearing a “grill” during a metal ceremony is ridiculous.

The USA killed Tunisia in basketball, but it didn’t stop one of the players from taking off his shoe and getting an autograph from Kobe Bryant.

Ok, so I know they are technically for Team GB, but how adorable are these two? 

Nick loves to watch the weight lifting.  I’m just baffled that these tiny little women can lift this much!  When Zulfiya Chinshanlo of Kazakhstan won the gold earlier this week, her coach was yelling, “Kazakhstan number 1!” into the camera.  If you haven’t seen Borat, this probably isn’t funny.

If you are like most of the world and think NBC has done a less than stellar job with their Olympic coverage, this article is great.  Here’s my favorite part:

If you’ve been watching NBC in prime time the past few nights, you’ve probably noticed how, night in, night out, we’ve been wrecking the Olympics for you. All we can say is, our bad. At NBC we’re just not used to broadcasting things that people want to watch.

But all that’s about to change.

Tonight, for those of you who like watching the Olympics without having every moment drained of its entertainment value, we are launching a new premium service called NBCFree: the Olympics without any contributions from NBC whatsoever.

For only $29.95 you can watch the Olympics with no spoilers, no maudlin “personal narratives,” and no promos for NBC’s new fall shows like that egregious one with the doctor and the monkey we show like every five minutes. And for $39.95, no Ryan Seacrest.

Go Team USA!

4 thoughts on “The Olympics Make Me Tired and Teary

  1. Sarah Wyland says:

    I got teary-eyed just reading your post! I LOVE all of these moments! Those Russian gymnasts…. I know there’s a lot of pressure and they want nothing more to win. But they need a bit of a come to Jesus meeting. And some eye makeup remover. 🙂

    Honestly? I’d pay not to see Ryan Seacrest, ha. But at least its not a Kardashian.

    • Life's Better With Freckles says:

      Aren’t the Olympics the best?! We just saw a Russian weighlifter fall apart when she won a silver medal, so it wasn’t just the gymnasts. You mean you won’t be sporting that silver shade of eyeshadow this fall?!

      Ha, that’s so true-although they did use Bruce Jenner. 🙂

Leave Some Freckle Love

