Young and Fabulous

My Dad turned 60 today!  I called him this morning and asked if he had any trouble getting out of bed.  🙂 He still bikes hundreds of miles, so I think he’s going to make it.  Happy Birthday Daddy!  I wish we were with you to celebrate and eat at Larry’s.

I’ve learned a lot from my Dad in the past 28 years.  Actually, if you ask my Mother, I’m just like him.  Since half of my genes are his, here are a few things that I inherited without a choice.  

A weakness for anything sugar related.  There are some areas in life that a girl needs to be able to count on her father for.  I could always pull a Toaster Strudel out of the freezer and a Nutty Buddy out of the pantry at Dad’s house (calories didn’t matter then because I barely weighed 100 pounds).  Eating a Nutty Buddy always reminds me of my Dad!

A need for a daily gym session.  He bought me my first pair of running shoes in college.  Unfortunately, I don’t think I put too many miles on them as the running bug didn’t kick in until the post college years.  But he always slowed down to my pace when we went running and came to campus to cheer me on during my very first 5k!

My stubbornness.  My Mother will definitely agree to this one. 🙂

A love of history.  I think all the years of hearing about the Civil War and our country’s history must have just seeped into my brain without a choice.  When other college students were falling asleep in history class, I was paying attention and knew most of the details.  Except Western Civ.  Blech, that was an awful semester.

A love for travel.  He sent me on a summer abroad program in Costa Rica, which is still one of the best trips I’ve ever taken.

I’ve also learned a lot from him over the years, despite my best efforts as a teenager to block any parental information that was coming my way. 

How to drive a stick shift.

How to catch, hit and throw a softball.  Eye on the ball and glove on the ground!

It’s okay to be a little different and do your own thing. 

Fathers of little girls can also play beauty parlor and dress up.

Be early (I did learn that this is important, but I’m still not very good at it.  I drove him nuts as a teenager).

How to properly clean a house.  (Seriously, it’s his military background that could spot dirt from a mile away if we ignored missed it).

That having big dreams of leaving your small town behind is perfectly okay and acceptable.

Getting a college degree is essential.  Education opens up all kinds of new doors and opportunities.

That you need to learn to be a grown-up and pay your bills, but sometimes it takes a little time to get there on your own.  I remember calling Dad several times in college (usually in tears) when my car died or a security deposit was due.  I never expected a handout from my parents, but they always helped when I needed it. 

That girls need their Fathers when it comes time to buy a new car.

What the internet was.  Seriously, he knew about AOL before I did.  He still knows the latest and greatest technology before I do.  Sometimes your parents really are cooler than you.

How to properly write and edit a paper.  And to always make time to edit your children’s papers, resumes and articles.  He has read countless versions of my resume over the years, not to mention dozens of term papers during college.

You don’t call boys, boys call you.

That Dad’s are super strong and mighty.  I used to love when he would bench press me up and down above his head.  I’ve probably exceeded the weight limit for this trick. 🙂

That wearing a skin-tight red dress with slits will give your Father a heart attack on prom day.

Being held upside down as a child is the greatest thing ever.

How to make the perfect smoothie.

That it’s okay to be selfish and have fun until you are truly ready to have kids.  On the other hand, you don’t want to be turning 70 when they are heading off to college.  

Happy Birthday, Daddy!  You make 60 look young and fabulous! Love and miss you! -LP

6 thoughts on “Young and Fabulous

Leave Some Freckle Love

