Butler’s Orchard

We made it through Hurricane Sandy without any problems.  Our power stayed on and once the wind died down on Monday night, it wasn’t bad.  It basically just gave me a 4 day weekend.  We were so lucky because New York and New Jersey were hit hard!  Hurricane/Frankenstorm/Superstorm Sandy marks the 4th storm since we’ve lived here-Hurricane Irene, the earthquake, the DC derecho and now Sandy.  I was not prepared for this when we moved here!  I also learned about thunder snow during the news reports of the storm.  Am I the only one who was clueless about thunder snow?! 

Nick and I went to a pumpkin patch recently-along with what felt like everyone else in the DC area.  We went to Butler’s Orchard, a local family farm.  You can pick your own pumpkins, but they also have Christmas trees,strawberries, apples, peas, etc. during other seasons.  We will be going back!

This has been the most gorgeous fall, but there was a small breeze that day, which is why I’m sporting a lovely sweatshirt over my dress.  It’s the latest in fall fashion!

Isn’t this the best looking Halloween tree?

Nick did the heavy lifting and we took home a 30 pound pumpkin! 

The farm also has a market and we picked up several goodies.  We tried their apple cider doughnuts, which smelled delicious, but sounded disgusting.  They were devoured before we got home.  Heaven!

It’s officially November, which means the holidays are right around the corner.  Yippee!!

4 thoughts on “Butler’s Orchard

  1. Kelly @ Turned up to Eleven says:

    So happy you fared ok through the storm! People up north of you in Frederick are still without power, I hope that Gaithersburg and surrounding areas aren’t as bad. Speaking of surrounding areas… I used to live right up the way from Butler’s Orchard in Montgomery Village with my dad before moving down south 🙂 This makes me miss home!!! 🙂

  2. Life's Better With Freckles says:

    My husband works in Frederick and they were out of power for a few days, but it was on by mid-week. Most of the surrounding ares aren’t too bad…I know some people in Arlington had flooding.

    I know exactly where you used to live!! Come for a visit. 🙂 Fall is my favorite time of year here-it’s gorgeous right now!

  3. Leonie says:

    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave Some Freckle Love

