15 Week Bumpdate

Hello, my name is Lauren and I used to blog regularly in this space until a wee little one started living in my belly and I didn’t want to do anything but sleep after work.  Hopefully things are returning to normal around here!

Nick and I went home for Thanksgiving last home and everyone was very interested to see how pregnant I looked.  Or, in some people’s words, if I was fat yet.  🙂 

How Far Along? 15 weeks and a few days

Weight Gain? Maybe 8 pounds?  Definitely not the 2-3 pounds that the pregnancy books predict!  I haven’t been able to workout the past 2 months because I’ve been SO sick, so I think I’ve put it on faster than normal. 

Maternity Clothes?  I can still wear my normal clothes, but my skinny jeans are a wee bit uncomfortable.  I put on some maternity pants recently and it was like the heavens had parted and angels started singing.  The dress I’m wearing today is from my normal wardrobe.

Stretch Marks? Not yet.  The books all say this depends on your genetics, but I’m still trying to keep them away with tons of lotion.

Gender?  We may know next week!  We have a special screening next week and they think we should also be able to see the gender.  My guess is boy.  Nick is saying boy too, but I think that’s only because he’s terrified of raising a daughter.   

Sleep?  I thought sleep wouldn’t be interrupted until the end, but that hit early on-before I even know I was pregnant!  I was waking up several times a night and couldn’t go back to sleep.  It’s getting better thank goodness.  But oh boy, the pregnancy dreams are out of control!  It’s like a movie playing every night-they are so vivid and I remember everything the next morning.  

Food Cravings?  It’s more like what I can’t eat at this point.  I’ve been VERY nauseous and had a hard time eating (not that you can tell from the scale).  Meat is not my friend-I had a turkey-less Thanksgiving this year.  Anything with carbs is my friend (scale mystery solved).  I randomly wanted a McDonald’s cheeseburger only on, but that sounds awful now.  I’ve been eating lots of fruit and I’m constantly thirsty.  I snagged some frosted Pop Tarts at the grocery store last week, which I NEVER eat.     

What I Miss?  My normal running/workout routine.  I haven’t been able to workout because I’ve been so sick at night. It’s starting to get a little better and I did some workouts last week.  I’m hoping I can get on a regular routine again this week.  I can’t wait to go back to Body Pump and go for a run!

Symptoms?  Well, before pregnancy, I probably would have teared up during the episode of Giuliana and Bill that showed their baby being born.  Instead, it was a full-blown sob fest. 

Belly Button? Normal

Next check-up?  We have a 17 week screening next Friday.  We got some abnormal blood results from the first trimester screening, so I had blood work today and they will measure the baby again next week.  We have spent a lot of time praying that baby J is healthy and safe, but the past few weeks have been a tad stressful.  Any prayers would be appreciated!

Best Moment so far?  I actually saw the baby on an ultrasound before Nick did (story coming soon), so watching him see the baby for the first time was very special.

3 thoughts on “15 Week Bumpdate

  1. Holly at Everyday's a 'Hollyday' says:

    AHHH! I can’t believe I missed this. CONGRATS Lauren!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 I can’t wait to read your additional pregnancy posts!
    I think boy too, only because most of your symptoms were the opposite of mine…well, besides sleep. I was EXHAUSTED. i would literally go to bed at like 7pm every night. It was a debate if I wanted to eat dinner…or go straight to bed. Lol! I could barely keep my eyes open at work.
    SO EXCITED for you- can’t wait to find out if it’s a boy or girl!!!!

Leave Some Freckle Love

