Introducing Carson James

Last Thursday, May 9th, Nick and I went to the doctor for an appointment to check on Carson’s progress.  I had been to the doctor on Monday and Wednesday and things were moving along, so she wanted me to come in for another check.

Before we left the house, we took our 39 week photo.

Image

It’s a good thing we did, because by 11:00 a.m. we were here:

Image

Image

It was time to meet our little man, exactly one week before his due date!  My Granddad, the one he’s named after, and my Aunt Della picked the correct arrival date! Nick had picked May 10 and I had May 12, so we were a little late.

The nurses were warning us that first labors can take a long time, but every time they came in, they were surprised by how fast things were moving.  At 6:09 p.m., Carson James arrived weighing 7 pounds and 1 ounce and was 20 1/2 inches long.  I had guessed he would be 7 pounds and 4 ounces and Nick had 7 pounds 5 ounces.  Apparently we aren’t good at this game!

After everything we had to watch during my pregnancy, it was such a relief to know he was perfectly healthy.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

We were in the hospital until Saturday afternoon.  I’m not sure if there is anything scarier than bringing your new baby home and leaving the safety of the doctors and nurses!  The first night was ROUGH….we were joking that Carson was probably ready to trade us in for the nurses.  We think this is his concerned face about the rookie status of his parents:

Image

Image

Roxie has been great with him so far.  She wasn’t sure what to think about the new arrival when he was crying, but she’s been very calm around him.  Thank goodness!!

Image

Things are getting better every day and we are just learning to function on a few hours of sleep.  The lack of sleep is much easier when you have something so cute to stare at. 🙂 We love watching his expressions and having him cuddle with us.  We are so happy that he’s here, healthy and ours.  We can’t wait to watch him grow up and are looking forward to experiencing things as a family of three.  I won’t tell you how excited I am already for the holidays with him. 🙂 I know, it’s ridiculous!

Tomorrow was his actual due date and we are so glad we will spend the day with him!!

11 thoughts on “Introducing Carson James

  1. Holly at Everyday's a 'Hollyday' says:

    He’s SO handsome…a heart breaker already! Congrats again!!! Ok, so I have to know, were you very much dilated when the doctor did the check?? That is SO crazy that you went in that day to have him. SO happy your labor was nice & quick- the best kind, right??

    • Life's Better With Freckles says:

      Tell Miss G to watch out!! 🙂 I was dilated 3 cm at the beginning of the week, which I had been for about a week. I was having contractions, but not close enough. I was 4 on Wednesday, so when I went in on Thursday and was more, they sent me over! They had to break my water and as soon as they did, things were moving! I am SO thankful it was quick…I was terrified about it going in!!

Leave Some Freckle Love

