Red Lobster At Home

Now that Carson and I have figured things out a little more (does that ever actually happen with kids?), I decided to try to get back in the kitchen a little bit.  I’m sure there will be more waffles and cereal dinners in our future, but I did manage to cook dinner last night!

The key was prepping everything during one of his naps so I just had to cook it when Nick was headed home.  I got a little behind, so Nick ended up at the stove.  🙂  But hey, there was still a hot dinner on the table, right?!

I looked over some quick meal recipes at Annie’s Eats and decided to try her Coconut Shrimp Cakes with Mango Pineapple Salsa.  It was simple, except there was a lot of chopping involved, which I kind of hate.  Some cook I am!  But we both gave it a thumbs up.  It reminded me of coconut shrimp from Red Lobster.

Image

Coconut Shrimp Cakes with Mango Pineapple Salsa

For the salsa: 

1 mango, diced
1½ cups diced fresh pineapple
1/3 cup red bell pepper, diced small
¼ cup red onion, finely diced (I forgot to buy this at the store!)
1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped (I didn’t use this)
1 tbsp. minced fresh cilantro
Juice of one lime
Pinch of coarse salt

For the shrimp cakes: 
1 lb. uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, divided
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
2-3 tbsp. minced fresh chives
1 tsp. lemon zest
1 large egg (I used 2 eggs)
¼ cup minced fresh cilantro
Few dashes of sriracha (to taste) (I have no idea what this is, so I didn’t use it!)
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
Coconut oil for cooking (about 2-3 tbsp.) (I used regular olive oil because my grocery store didn’t have any coconut oil that I could find.)

We added a handful of unflavored bread crumbs to make the cakes stay together.

To make the salsa, combine all the ingredients in a medium bowl.  Toss to mix well.  Cover and refrigerate, allowing flavors to blend.

To make the shrimp cakes, add the uncooked shrimp to a food processor.  Pulse in very short bursts just until finely chopped.  (I just chopped mine).  Transfer the chopped shrimp to a medium bowl.  Mix in ¾ cup of the coconut, the garlic, chives,  lemon zest, egg, cilantro, sriracha, salt and pepper.  Stir the mixture with a fork until evenly mixed.  Form the mixture into 7-8 patties.  Add the remaining ½ cup of coconut to a shallow dish or pie plate. Gently coat the shrimp cakes in the shredded coconut.

In a large skillet (I use cast iron), heat the coconut oil over medium-high heat until shimmering.  Add the shrimp cakes to the pan and cook, turning once, until both sides are golden and the cakes are cooked through, about 4 minutes total.  Serve the warm shrimp cakes over a bed of baby spinach or bibb lettuce leaves.  Top with the mango pineapple salsa and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Red Lobster At Home

Leave Some Freckle Love

