A Letter to Carson

My sweet Carson James, you are one!  Everyone told us that time would fly by quickly with you, but we had no idea it would creep up on us as quickly as it did.

We have had quite the year since you came into our lives on May 9, 2013.  We have laughed, cried, missed out on sleep, snuggled, worried, prayed, and celebrated milestones.  You have taught us so many things this year, little love bug!  But the most important thing we have done this year is learn what true, unconditional love is. No matter what type of day we have with you, whether you were fussy or didn’t let us sleep, we love you to pieces.  Although we do prefer the nights where we get to sleep! You just completely captured our entire hearts.

I thought I knew the magnitude of God’s love for us, but you showed me that I didn’t truly grasp it.  I feel like I understand his love for me more because of my love for you!  I also have truly learned the power of prayer. From moments of worry over your health when I was pregnant to frustration and fear after your birth, I don’t think we could have survived this past year without praying.  And we are also so grateful for a happy, healthy baby.

I loved living in DC and working on my career and swore that I would never move back to my hometown.  Well, we’ve been here for more than a year and I love it.  I also stated that I never wanted to be a stay at home mom. Now, I love spending my days with you!  I’ve learned that your priorities can change.  You are our number one priority now and I’m so lucky that I am able to be at home with you.  Shows how much I knew before, right?!  I love that our friends and family are just a few minutes down the road.

Before you were born, we spent our weekends at concerts, games and restaurants.  We still do that, but it’s not quite as easy to go now!  However, we are so content to sit at home and watch you run laps around the living room or chase you in circles.  Our priorities have shifted and we just feel so content to spend time with you instead of always having to be on the go.

We love the sound of your laughter and have learned that baby laughs can cure any problems!  We may be sick or having a bad day and one tickle session with you can turn everything around.  Your laugh just comes from your entire body and we adore it.  The same goes for that toothy grin you have!

Carson James, you have captured our entire hearts and we have loved this past year with you!  Sometimes when I sit and rock you, I try to imagine the person you will turn into one day.  My prayer for you is that you will have a happy, healthy life and a true heart for God.  And of course that you will always want to be best friends with Mommy like you are now!  We love you so much, love bug.  Happy first birthday!

The original draft of this deleted and I had to re-write it.  I don’t feel like I was able to capture everything like I did the first time, but tried my best.     

Leave Some Freckle Love

