A First Birthday Bash!

A few weeks ago, our family and friends received these in the mail:

invite2

It was time to celebrate our little rookie turning ONE!

I decided to go with a baseball theme of “Carson just finished his rookie year” after seeing something similar on Pinterest.  I wanted to make it vintage baseball and have a big party in our backyard.  After a week of beautiful, sunny weather, Saturday was rainy and cool.  Luckily, since having a child, I’ve learned that things don’t always go as planned!  We ended up moving the party to my friend Annie’s cheerleading gym so we wouldn’t have to worry about rain.  I did mourn the outdoor party I had been planning the past month for a quick minute, but I reminded myself that we are lucky to celebrate a happy, healthy baby!

IMG_1924

Nick voted for us to use a red/navy theme for our favorite baseball team, the Washington Nationals! It also works for the Atlanta Braves because we used to go to their games before moving to D.C.

IMG_2013

The invitation said to “wear your favorite team shirt” and most people showed up in a jersey!  I was so excited that people played along with the theme!

Our entire family ended up coming in town for the party.  Nick’s parents even came in from Idaho to celebrate with us!
IMG_1888

IMG_1890

IMG_1918

IMG_2012

IMG_1929

Carson was loving the attention when everyone sang Happy Birthday to him, but once it was time to dig into the cake, he was reaching for Gigi.  I think he was a little overwhelmed with all eyes on him!  I was surprised because he has loved small bites of cupcakes in the past.  Too much for a little rookie, I guess!

IMG_1953

We had worked all week on showing that he was one with his finger and he did it on Friday. Clearly he wanted to show off his new skills!

IMG_1975

Here are a few details from the party!

IMG_1922

IMG_1920

IMG_1876

IMG_1879

IMG_1881

IMG_1884

IMG_1891

IMG_1892

IMG_1893

IMG_1894

IMG_1895

IMG_1896

IMG_1898

IMG_1899

IMG_1904

IMG_1909

Happy First Birthday, Carson James!  I know you won’t remember one tiny detail, but Mommy had so much fun planning your big day!

3 thoughts on “A First Birthday Bash!

  1. erin64.Wordpress.com says:

    I am not sure where you’re getting yyour info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this information for
    myy mission.

Leave Some Freckle Love

