Red, White & Blue

The Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays, but last year we were trying to figure out life with a new baby and it rained all day, so we didn’t even go see fireworks.  So when the weatherman reported sunny, blue skies were on the agenda for July 4th, I was thrilled!

Carrie came to stay with us and brought a friend from Idaho, Jewel and her sweet boy, Cael.

IMG_2463 IMG_2469  IMG_2474 IMG_2477 IMG_2494

We camped out by the pool for the entire day and enjoyed sangria, burgers and pie.  “Camped out by the pool” has a different meaning with kids.  It really means we chase a little boy around the pool and swim until they finally take a nap and THEN we get to stretch out on a lounge chair.

IMG_2558

Anthony surprised Carrie with a puppy for her birthday and he came to visit.  He’s the sweetest little thing and is a big, soft furball!  Carson wasn’t so sure about him and kept telling him to go in the dog cage!

We always go to my grandparents house to watch the fireworks because they live overlooking the lake.  Not having to fight the crowds and stand in line to use a porta potty is a win in my book.

IMG_2505 IMG_2522 IMG_2523 IMG_2524 IMG_2528 IMG_2538

I don’t mind watching the fireworks from the lake, but I hate the ones that people shoot off in their yard.  It probably has something to do with one nearly hitting me in the head when I was younger.  I’m sure I will have many moments of panic when Carson is older and wants to shoot off fireworks with Daddy.

IMG_2533

Carson wasn’t sure about them either…he would jump when they went off and then run to me or Gigi.  He was so tired by the time the big ones started that we put his pj’s on and took him inside.  We waited for traffic to clear out before we left Grandmom’s and he slept on me the entire time and didn’t even wake up when we got him in and out of the car seat.  I pray that any future children will sleep like he can!

Happy 4th, y’all!

Leave Some Freckle Love

