A Week in Paris

I started off the month of October with two weeks in France! I had a work trip to Bordeaux, so we decided to take advantage of a free plane ticket and meet in Paris.

I finished my conference and flew to Paris on Friday night and Nick met me on Saturday morning. I love how romantic it sounds to meet each other in Paris!

As I was going through security at the Bordeaux airport, I was pulled to the side. They ran the test strip over my hands multiple times and it was clearly setting off an alarm. Then the questions came and no, monsieur, I don’t speak French. Between a guy that spoke Spanish and a girl that spoke some English, we managed to have a decent conversation. (Never thought I would speak Spanish in France). They completed a form on me about why I was in the country and then told me I was clear and could go to my gate. It’s a little unnerving to be questioned in a country where you don’t speak the language. I had visions of myself sitting in a French jail and needing to call Olivia Pope for help.

Nick took a nap when he got to the hotel, so I went for a run to check out the Eiffel Tower. That’s one of the best running destinations I’ve ever had!

We spent the day just checking out Paris.

IMG_7560

I wonder if the locals just take the scenery for granted. I felt like I was walking in a movie set with the cobblestone streets and old buildings. 

thumb_IMG_7636_1024

We were fascinated by the doors-they were all massive.

IMG_7555 (2)

I may not be in college anymore, but I still throw up diamonds when I see a lion!

IMG_7573To look like a local, you must carry a man bag and wear a scarf and skinny jeans. He has American written all over him. 

We decided at the last minute to go see the Catacombs. The last tour starts at 7 and we had a 40 minute walk. We took a few wrong streets and got held up by a motorcycle parade (or whatever you call hundreds of motorcycles in Paris), but we still made it by 6:50 p.m. There were about 20 people in the line and the grumpy tour guide wouldn’t let anyone else in. We decided to boycott the Catacombs and didn’t go back. Actually, we just ran out of time on the other days.

We ate pastries instead of looking at old bones.

thumb_IMG_8023_1024 thumb_IMG_8018_1024

thumb_IMG_8021_1024

When your TV only has shows in French, Modern Family on Netflix is a life saver! Our view from our window wasn’t too bad either.

thumb_IMG_7622_1024

Leave Some Freckle Love

