Y’all, I just realized that Carson is closer to 3 than 2. I look back at pictures from this summer and he still had a baby face to him, but it’s already changing. So before I have a full on mama meltdown, here is what he’s up to these days.

thumb_IMG_0948_1024

Carson, you take after my side of the family in the talking department and have a lot to say. You are constantly repeating everything we say (scary) and saying words new words daily. It’s amazing how funny a conversation can be with a two-year-old. Some of your favorite words right now are “that’s pretty cool,” “holy cow,” “sure,” “boom,” and “um….yes!” And no. We hear no a lot. As in, I wish it would be banned from the dictionary. And you are apparently too cool to call me “Mommy” now because I’ve been “Mama” for about a month now.

thumb_IMG_1037_1024

Now, if someone you don’t know talks to you, you turn mute and just looks at them. Daddy and I were both shy kids, so you get it from both of us. You are very passive when it comes to other kids. If they steal a toy, you just look at me, like, “what do I do, Mama?”

thumb_IMG_1120_1024

You has been counting to three, but always counted 1, 2, 3 without counting the objects. You just started counting to 4 this past week! You are very proud of yourself for counting. Occasionally when you count, we will hear 1, 2, 3, 6, 9, yay! (Those would be my math skills).

thumb_IMG_1249_1024

You have been a mama’s boy since birth, but have been very attached to Daddy these past few months. I’m not going to lie, I’ve missed being the favorite!  You want to go in the backyard with Daddy and “work” and get “our tools” and build.

thumb_IMG_1570_1024

You moved to a big boy bed AND big boy underwear in August. We weren’t planning to do two major things at one time, but it worked out. We were moving you out of the crib and had a few rough weeks where you would NOT stay in your bed. Of course, the first night was a breeze and you went right to sleep and never got up. We thought it was going to be great-ha! You showed us the next night and we probably spent an hour getting you to stay in your bed.

thumb_IMG_1316_1024

We were planning to wait until closer to three to potty train, but you started using the potty with Gigi while I was in Canada for work. Since you were doing well, we went straight to big boy underwear and you didn’t have any accidents on Saturday. Sunday and Monday were another story and we almost threw in the towel. By the next weekend, you finally had it. Most of the time you do great, but occasionally you will still have an accident.

thumb_IMG_1708_1024

You can sleep anywhere and Target carts seem to make you want to take a nap. You nap from 1 to 4 in the afternoon, but there’s a good chance you will nod off in the car if it’s around 11 or later.

thumb_IMG_1760_1024

Carson, you still LOVE anything to do with fire trucks and can spot one in town before we can. You do the same with school buses. You like to watch the traffic lights and says, “green means go” and red is, “now we stop.” Speaking of colors, you know the basic colors, red, green, black, white (wipe), purple, pink and blue. You confuse yellow and orange.

thumb_IMG_8823_1024

You love going to church and don’t even look back at us when you go in the room. You also like going to the gym with us. School is a different story. You NEVER want to go and always cry. It breaks my heart. We aren’t sure if it’s because you know you are staying all day or if you just like to make me feel guilty. We are trying to decide what is the best path for you while I work.

Right now, your favorite TV shows are Wallykazam and Wild Kratts, you love anything to do with guns, which I would like to point out we didn’t teach you, and digging for worms will last for hours. You will play by yourself in the playroom for hours and we hear you making up little stories. Cowboys are high on your “cool” list and you love Woody and Bullseye from Toy Story.

Carson, I wish I could just freeze your little personality because this age is magical. The way your eyes light up when you see Christmas lights or a fire truck just melts my heart. Sometimes you are too busy for a hug, but when you decide to run at full speed and throw your little arms around my neck, I just want to remember it forever. Your voice is precious when you say, “I love you, Mama.” I hope we are always best buds. However, you have a stubborn streak and there are days I don’t know what to do with you. Sometimes I think a demon swoops in and possesses your little body. I am usually sweating at the end of one of these episodes!! I can only imagine your teenage years. I’m praying already about those!

One thought on “

  1. Stanley L. Burr says:

    Stubborn streak, sound familiar…like maybe, his mom? I will point out this streak ultimately lead to the Great Algebra Incident. Just think of what you have to look forward to. 🙂 I’m laughing, how about you?

Leave Some Freckle Love

